Soup’s On for Sunday Supper

Tonight I made Spicy Pork and Mustard Green Soup from Bon Appetit. After not being able to find all the ingredients in the grocery store I made the following substitutions:

  • medallion cuts of pork  that chopped up instead of ground pork
  • an extra tablespoon of soy sauce* instead of the tsp fish sauce
  • vermicelli rice noodles instead of wide rice noodles
  • Tellicherry black pepper corns instead of 1 tsp Sichaun peppercorns
  • Ground cumin instead of 1/2 tsp cumin seeds

*If you are gluten-free, be sure to look for gluten-free soy sauce.

IMG_1476

A word on washing greens: I don’t have a salad spinner and I dislike the leaf by leaf washing method (and think it is ineffectual). To wash greens, I get a large bowl, place the greens in the bowl, fill the bowl with water and a splash of vinegar. I agitate the greens in the water for a few minutes. As I pull them out to rip them up they get shaken and inspected. Use a bowl and not just your kitchen sink as your sink has either bacteria or cleaning agents in it (or both!).

IMG_1477

I asked John to help me rate my meals. The rating system we used is 3 spoons.

0 spoons = Please never ever make this again. It was gross.

1 spoon = It was a OK.

2 spoons = solid meal

3 spoons = instant classic, immediate add to the remake list

John gave this meal 2 spoons. He said that he had some trepidation about the meal because he’s not a fan of pho and that this seemed very pho like, but it turned out he liked it. He also said (and I agree) that it was very filling.

I gave this meal 3 spoons. The peppercorn gave it a punch and it was warm and satisfying on a winter night. I’m dreaming of leftovers over the week.

I had a lot of left over ginger (even after selecting the smallest size at the grocery store), so I looked up how to make candied ginger. You’ll need a food scale for this one.

IMG_1479

One thought on “Soup’s On for Sunday Supper

Leave a Reply

